

## **ELECTORAL REGISTRATION POLICY**

This statement sets out how INTO facilitates the electoral registration of eligible students.

#### Overview

**Condition E5**: The provider must comply with guidance published by the OfS to facilitate, in cooperation with electoral registration officers, the electoral registration of students.

INTO educates eligible students about their ability to participate in elections during their stay in the UK, and signposting them to relevant resources enabling them to register to vote, should they so wish.

#### **Educating eligible students**

INTO identifies students who may be eligible to vote in some or all UK elections prior to their arrival into the UK to commence their study. Sessions on the UK electoral system, including how to register to vote, are held for these students as part of their induction programme at the start of each course intake.

#### Signposting to relevant resources

In addition to the targeted sessions on voter registration for eligible students detailed above, these students receive additional information included in their course handbooks, which are provided to all students at the start of each academic intake. Information provided will be sourced solely from legitimate outlets such as the UK government and Electoral Commission's own resources on voter registration and the UK electoral process. Material included in handbooks for eligible students are reviewed on an annual basis to ensure accuracy. Electoral Commission factsheets, posters and other material are made available for the facilitation of voter registration by eligible students.



### Appendix A: electoral eligibility of different nationalities in English elections

Nationality → Qualifying British EU citizen Commonwealth Election ↓ foreign national UK Yes Yes No No Parliamentary Yes Yes Yes No Local Government Greater Yes Yes Yes No London Authority Yes Police and Yes Yes No Crime Commissioner

# Appendix B: List of Commonwealth countries whose citizens are eligible to vote in English elections

Antigua and Barbuda	Australia	The Bahamas
Bangladesh	Barbados	Belize
Botswana	Brunei Darussalam	Cameroon
Canada	Cyprus <u>1</u>	Dominica
Eswatini	Fiji Islands <u>2</u>	Ghana
Grenada	Guyana	India



Jamaica	Kenya	Kiribati
Lesotho	Malawi	Malaysia
Malta <u>1</u>	Mauritius	Mozambique
Namibia	Nauru	New Zealand
Nigeria	Pakistan	Papua New Guinea
Rwanda	St Kitts & Nevis	St Lucia
St Vincent & The Grenadines	Samoa	Seychelles
Sierra Leone	Singapore	Solomon Islands
South Africa	Sri Lanka	The Gambia
Tonga	Trinidad and Tobago	Tuvalu
Uganda	United Republic of Tanzania	Vanuatu
Zambia	Zimbabwe	



Date policy last reviewed: February 2021

Next review date: August 2021

